My Serger and I are friends now

Standard

Earlier I mentioned taking the Craftsy Beginning Serger class. After day 1 I was ready to throw the computer, the serger, and all the scraps through the window…
I took a day off, read some of the questions and comments on the class page, and decided to give it another go. Success! I figured out the tensions and completed 16 infinity scarves, 6 rice warmer bags, some quick little dresses for my grand nieces, and a few more bags.

boys rice bagsRicepins
I’ve only posted a picture of the rice warmers here, as I’m not sure if my family will be checking in here to see all the gifts I’ve been making. (of course, all they have to do is look in the bags under my sewing table and they would see everything, but I’m pretty sure they are afraid of my sewing area).
Thanksgiving was a perfect day! I kept it small. My girls, their significant others, one of my nieces, and one of my daughters’ friends who’s parents don’t celebrate Thanksgiving.

turkey trot
We started the morning with the Turkey Trot. My two daughters and granddaughter jogged most of it and I walked it. Dinner was perfect, and the family commented on how good the Turkey was. They said it was the moistest (or most moist, not sure which is grammatically correct) Turkey I’ve made! I’ve been making Turkeys for over 30 years, so that is saying something. After dinner we had some delicious mulled wine and lots of cake and pies! (this is why we do the Turkey trot in the morning).
Saturday after Thanksgiving I had my sister, three nieces, my two daughters, and three grand-nieces over to bake and make holiday treats. What a great day it was! We made Hot Chocolate Reindeer, beaded candy canes, glitter filled ornaments, and lots and lots of cookies!holiday crafting Here are the nieces and Grand Nieces decorating cookies.cookie decorating
I was really ready to come back to work on Monday. That “vacation” was exhausting!
I caught the 75% off sale at JoAnn’s fabrics the day before Thanksgiving. The store opened at 6:00am and when I got there at 5:30 there were already 23 people in line! I bought enough fleece and fabric to last me at least six months. I’m so excited to start making pajama pants. I measured everyone’s waist and inseam while they were at my house on Thursday. I measured their waists “after” they ate dinner!  🙂fleece for jammiesThis is a small portion of what I bought.  (a very small portion).

2 responses »

  1. Glad you got the hang of your machine .. You smashed out heaps of projects! Love that turtle fabric too – they’re my favourite animal! We don’t celebrate thanksgiving in australia, but it sounds lovely! 🙂

Leave a comment